Saving Searches

You can set up and save searches, and have them run automatically once a week or once a month. You can also run a saved search manually, any time. Each time a saved search is run, the search looks for results that are new since the last run. You might want to save a search even if the search produced no results, so you are notified of new materials that have arrived since the last time the search ran. Your saved searches can be viewed and edited at any time.

The results of saved searches are automatically sent by email to an address you specify. The email message includes the name and description of the search, the number of new titles found, and the call number, author, and title of each new item. You can select a link for any entry to search for the new item in the library catalog.

Note:
For automatic searches, the library limits the number of titles in saved search results. The usual limit is 500 titles.

You may have multiple saved searches scheduled to run at different frequencies. In this case, you receive an e-mail message listing the results for the weekly searches, and a separate message listing the results for the monthly searches.

You need a library account number and password to save searches.

Important:
When you save a search, the search information is associated with your library account. If you have concerns about your privacy, contact the library for specific information about the library’s privacy policies.

Set up and save a search

To set up and save a search:

  1. Set up and run a keyword, phrase, exact, advanced, or Boolean search. The search results are displayed. Even if there are no search results, each subsequent automatic search uses the criteria you entered to look for titles that are new since the search ran.

Note:
When your saved search runs automatically, the results include titles from the local library catalog only, even if your original search included remote databases.

  1. Click Save Search near the top of the page.
  2. If the log-in page appears, type your library account barcode number or user name and password and click Log In.

Note:
If this is the first time you have saved a search, a consent message may be displayed. Read the message, and if you want to continue, click Yes.

You are logged in to your library account, and the Save Search form is displayed.

  1. Enter the following information for your saved search:

Note:
The Search command line displays your search as a search command. You cannot edit this command. The number of characters in your search command is limited to 250.

  1. Click Save Search. The search is saved.
  2. Click Back to return to the search page.

Run a saved search manually

You can run any saved search manually, instead of waiting for the next automatic run. The manual run counts toward the total number of times the search is to be run. To run a saved search manually:

  1. Access your saved searches by one of the following methods:

Note:
You can display the Saved Searches page at any time by clicking Show All in the Saved Searches list at the side of the page.

  1. Run a search manually by one of these methods:

The search results are displayed.

View and edit saved searches

To view and edit your saved searches:

  1. Display the complete list of your saved searches by one of these methods:

The Saved Searches page in your library account includes the settings you specified when you saved each search, and the current status of the search.

  1. Click the name of the search in the Saved Searches list at the side of the page, or in the Saved Searches page of your library account. The search form is displayed.
  2. Edit the fields on the Save Search form. For a description of the fields, see View and edit saved searches.

Note:
The Search command line displays your search as a search command. You cannot edit this command. To change the search command, set up and run a new search, then save the search (refer to Set up and save a search).

  1. Click Save Search to save your changes to the search.

Delete a saved search

You can delete a saved search when it is no longer useful or when the maximum number of searches has been reached. To delete a saved search:

  1. Display the complete list of your saved searches by one of these methods:
  1. Delete searches by one of these methods:

A message asks you to confirm the deletion. Click Yes to delete the search, or click No to cancel the deletion.